Malvern Parish History
A Journey through Time
 

1935:

Father Pierce, an American secular priest stationed in the Transvaal Diocese, designed and obtained funding to build the church.

1936:

Bishop O’ Leary blessed the church on 29 November.

1938:

  • 4 May: The inauguration of Council Number 2 of Saint Vincent De Paul.
  • 6 November: Bishop O’ Leary welcomed and handed over the parish to three Paulist Fathers, namely: Henry Fisher, Claude Collins and Thomas Holloran.
1944:

  • Five Assumption Sisters from Grahamstown opened the school, which we fondly know as Assumption Convent. The first enrolment included 67 girls and boys; classes were held in the church hall.
1954:

  • Father Lewis inaugurates the Holy Name Society and welcomes its officers.
  • The statue of Our Lady of Fatima is received from Edenvale. However, in 1976, it is removed and housed in the convent to accommodate the current statue of our Blessed Mother.
1966:

  • In April, the Church of the Blessed Sacrament became an Oblate parish when Fathers Kelly and van den Eynde took up residence.
1967:

  • Michael Kelly’s wedding ceremony had a unique twist; it was conducted by both Father van den Eynde and a Presbyterian minister. The sermon was said by the minister and the blessing given by the priest. Being the first of its kind in the Transvaal, this unique service, required the Bishop’s approval.
1974:

  • 18 October: The Schoenstatt Movement celebrates its Diamond Jubilee in the Malvern parish.
1976:

  • The Blessed Sacrament parish welcomes Father Almeida, who hails from Angola. He cared for the spiritual needs of the growing Portuguese communities in Malvern and Belgravia.
1983:

  • The American Youth Encounter Spirit (YES) movement was introduced to the parish and soon spread to other centres in Southern Africa and Mauritius.
  • Otters and Colts Youth Group were born from YES for children between 7-15 years old.
  • 22 November: The parish of the Blessed Sacrament celebrated its Golden Jubilee with a special mass and dinner.
1989:

  • The youth group, Christian of Our Lord (COOL), was established and continued for over ten years.
1991:

  • 4 August: The Bishops of South Africa launch RENEW, a campaign to grow and nurture our faith. The Kiepersol tree was chosen as the symbol of renewal and planted in the parish grounds.
1995:

  • 17 September: Holy Father, Pope John Paul II, celebrated Mass at the Gosforth Park Racecourse, Germiston. Buses transported parishioners to Mass.
1996:

  • 16 November: The Blessed Sacrament parish celebrated its Diamond Jubilee with a Chinese Dinner Dance in the church hall.
1998:

  • 18 July: Drummond Lessing became the first Deacon of the Blessed Sacrament parish. He was one of nine candidates to be ordained by Bishop Reginald Orsmond of Johannesburg at the Cathedral of Christ the King.
2003:

  • An anonymous donor generously donated beautiful stained glass windows. Work was commissioned and completed in 2004.
  • 12 December: Father Hogan celebrated his 50th anniversary of unwavering dedication to the priesthood. Father Hogan passed away on the 23 March 2006; he will always be remembered and revered for faithfully fulfilling his ministry with great love and devotion.
2004

  • Fathers Tony Daniels and Brian Connolly take up residence in June.
2005

  • The Festa, an International Festival, hosted by parishioners was a tremendous success as the local community indulged in dancing, international cuisine and enthralling entertainment.
2009

Father Brian Connolly left Malvern parish to become the resident priest of Germiston.